Wednesday, 1 June 2011


Jaguar XK120


In an attempt to settle an age-old argument, classic car fans are being given the chance to vote on the best British sportscar of all time. A panel of experts has prepared a shortlist of 15 iconic cars covering all the great British marques and enthusiasts can vote on-line for their own favourite via the official website of the Silverstone Classic.

As well as being firmly established as the world’s biggest classic racing festival, the annual Silverstone Classic also features one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of classic cars. This summer’s three-day event will see more than 120 UK car clubs displaying in excess of 7000 cars including large numbers of those shortlisted on-line for the coveted ‘Best British Sportscar’ title.

Centre stage this year goes to the E-type Jaguar, with the Silverstone Classic chosen by all the major Jaguar clubs as the location for the legendary model’s official 50th birthday party. The target for the event is to have 1000 E-types on display and then send them on to the Grand Prix circuit during Saturday to set a Guinness World Record for the greatest number of E-types in a parade. Cars from all over the world are already confirmed, including North America and all over Europe.

But the E-type isn’t the only car – or Jaguar – shortlisted on the website for the ‘Best British Sportscar’ crown; it is joined by its XK120 predecessor on the shortlist. Triumph, though, has the most finalists with TR3, TR6 and Spitfire models all making the last 15. Austin Healy (‘Frogeye’ Sprite and 3000), Lotus (Seven and Elan) and MG (MGA and MGB) join Jaguar with two models on the final roster, which is completed with the AC Cobra, Aston Martin DB5, Morgan and TVR Griffith.

To vote for their own favourite, enthusiasts simply log onto and click on the appropriate box under their particular choice – all entrants being restricted to one vote. The poll closes on 30 June and the result will be announced on 7 July with the overall winner being officially crowned during this year’s Silverstone Classic. 10 winning votes drawn at random will each receive a pair of weekend tickets to the event.


AC Cobra

Aston Martin DB5

Austin Healey ‘Frogeye’ Sprite

Austin Healey 3000

Jaguar XK120/150

Jaguar E-type

Lotus 7

Lotus Elan Sprint



Morgan Plus *

Triumph TR3A

Triumph TR6

Triumph Spitfire

TVR Griffith

Source: Silverstone Classic