Tuesday, 26 July 2016


The inaugural Hillclimb Formula Ford Fest, supported by Veloce Publishing, took place at Gurston Down Speed Hillclimb over the weekend of July 23rd/24th.

As part of the Gurston Down and Midland Hillclimb Championship event, a bumper class of 15 drivers in 10 cars took to the track for some close competition over the two days. Among the entrants were the 1997 British Hillclimb Champion Roger Moran from Ludlow in a Swift FB91 and former British Touring Car Championship race winner and current ITV4 BTCC commentator Paul O’Neill from Merseyside, guesting in the similar Swift FB91 of friend Mark Alley from Wells. However, the winner was the 2015 Formula Ford class Gurston champion Veloce author Simon McBeath from Sturminster Newton aboard his Swift SC92F with a class record setting time of 36.30 seconds. Second place went to Richard Summers from Tenbury Wells in his Van Diemen RF80 on 36.80secs, and third was Tony Wiltshire from Newton Abbott in his Swift SC93 on 36.83secs. Paul O’Neill finished in seventh place on 37.04secs and Roger Moran was ninth on 37.43secs.

The organisers are already looking forward to repeating the Hillclimb Formula Ford Fest in 2017 at the same event, and the building on the success and popularity of the inaugural event the entry is expected to go from strength to strength.

Simon's new book Competition Car Composites - A Practical Handbook (Revised 2nd Edition) is available now!