Friday, 7 December 2012


Ian Wagstaff has won The Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy for his work on the Veloce book Tony Robinson - The biography of a race mechanic.

Photo: Jeff Bloxham

The most outstanding motoring journalists in the business were honoured at The Guild of Motoring Writers’ annual Dinner and Awards at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London, on Thursday 6 December.

The much-anticipated event at the exclusive venue saw Guild members welcome sponsors, leading members of the automotive public relations industry, motorsport stars plus up-and-coming writers, to mark the presentation of awards to writers, editors, broadcasters, bloggers and photographers for their work. Among those who were on hand to congratulate the winners were rally legend Paddy Hopkirk, Intercontinental Rally Challenge champion Andreas Mikkelsen, chairman of Magma Group Dr Martin Leach, BRDC secretary Stuart Pringle and Michael Quinn, grandson of Jaguar founder Sir William Lyons.

For 2012 there were more prizes than ever, representing a wider diversity of activities undertaken by motoring journalists today. Winners received cash and trophies – and Commended citations were made in many categories. Prize money totalled more than £23,000.

Photo: Jeff Bloxham

The Guild also presented its prestigious Driver and Rider of the Year awards, chosen by the Guild's own motorsport experts. These went to British Formula Three champion Jack Harvey and World Superbikes star Tom Sykes respectively. Motorsport engineering legend Patrick Head received the President’s Trophy from Nick Mason.

The evening’s most coveted prize, the Renault UK/GoMW Journalist of the Year award, is bestowed on the writers judged to have made the most outstanding journalistic effort in any medium during the past 12 months. Traditionally this been restricted to just Guild members – but this year it was decided to open up a chance at the title to anyone in the industry and to create three awards. Read on to see who won these, and the other GoMW accolades…

Source: Guild of Motoring Writers