Tuesday, 23 April 2013


TV star Mike Brewer has signed up to mentor young recruits

Richard Aucock has signed up to mentor young recruits

The Guild of Motoring Writers has launched a mentoring scheme for new young members, enabling the rising stars of motoring journalism to tap into the Guild’s deep pool of experience.

Nearly 20 high-profile GoMW members have agreed to join the scheme, which will see all new members under the age of 30 offered a mentor.

Mentors have agreed to share their contact details with the new Guild members, so if the newcomers ever need to run something past them, ask a question about their career or simply have someone to mull things over with, they’ll know where to turn.

The brainchild of Guild committee member James Baggott, the mentoring scheme is just one of a number of initiatives the GoMW is rolling out in 2013.

“When I first started in this industry I could have done with an experienced journalist who I could turn to for advice,” explained Baggott. “Knowing there is someone you can talk to in confidence, who has been in the industry a little longer than you have, will make a big difference to many up-and-coming young journalists.”

Many high-profile Guild members have agreed to join the mentoring scheme, including TV star Mike Brewer, who fronts Wheeler Dealers and Trading Up on Discovery. Autocar editor Jim Holder, former Top Gear presenter Sue Baker, The Guild of Motoring Writers chairman Richard Aucock and national newspaper writers Nat Barnes and Honest John are also on board.

Guild chairman Aucock added: “This is yet another fantastic initiative by the Guild that shows how we are supporting our young members and helping to attract new blood into joining. We’ve had an influx of younger journalists signing up to be members in recent months, and this mentoring scheme will be something they can tap into immediately.”

Membership to the Guild costs £97.50 with a joining fee of £25. For under-30s that is reduced to £62.50 with no joining fee. Members get access to a host of benefits – including free AA breakdown cover – as well as the chance to enter the coveted annual awards.

The full list of mentors is as follows:

1 Sue Baker
2 Sarah Bradley
3 John Kendall
4 Richard Yarrow
5 Richard Aucock
6 Simon Harris
7 Jorn Madslien
8 Tristan Young
9 David Williams
10 James Baggott
11 Mike Brewer
12 Chris Wright
13 Ben Pulman
14 Paul Horrell
15 Andrew Noakes
16 Honest John
17 Nat Barnes
18 Jim Holder
19 Matthew Carter

Source: Guild of Motoring Writers Ltd

No comments :

Post a comment